Posted in Poetry

THE AFRICAN LADY

She was wearing an African blue print couture dress
Fully defined edges that brought out her delicate hedges
That cover her Alice in such a magnificent wonderland
I think she got it from Etsy, just saying (whispering)
Her voice, “Oh! That voice”, I can’t forget it
It was so coarse, so coarse it seemed like…
As if it was ragged by the rugs of her past.

Well, to be frank with you, I love her, I really do
I know she has loved me for her entire life
But you see, I’ve loved her for my entire life
So that’s like how many years now?
I think I can say I know what love is
So original, so… not perverted by the external forces
Just speaking from experience here that’s all
If only I could give her one thing in this life…
I would give her the ability to see herself through my eyes,
Only then! Only then, would she realize
How special she is to me.

Author:

She is one of the unselfish creatures, You know, who are just peculiar in their ways. Who will for pure love and admiration Bind themselves willing slaves To a cause which doesn’t affect her in any way, To youth though she lost it a blue moon ago, To bright hopes that by strength always shone, To dreams that light her luminous life, To a faith that goes way beyond her reasoning.

Leave a Reply

